6 CT Laws You Should Know That Go Into Effect October 1st
Things may change for you big time on October , 2019, when many new Connecticut laws go into effect.
When it comes to taxes, Connecticut seems to have written the book. There's a tax for just about everything. Now, starting October 1, Connecticut will add even more taxes, and certain laws are being rewritten and changed.
Here's a look at six of the most important that may affect you:
The minimum wage will finally be increased and go from $10.10 an hour to $11 an hour. After the increase on October 1st, it will then increase by $1 every year until it reaches $15 come June 1, 2023.
Right now you have to be at least 18 to purchase any smoking products, but that all changes on October 1st when the smoking age is raised to 21. The law would also require online e-cigarette dealers to obtain a signature from a person who is 21 or older upon delivery. Penalties and or fines for selling to minors will also increase.
This one tax, more than any other, has caused the most confusion over the last few weeks. So here's what's happening.
There will be a new one percent tax on top of the regular sales tax for any type of prepared meals from restaurants and supermarkets. So what does that mean for you the consumer?
It means that certain prepared items you buy at a supermarket, or order in a restaurant will now have an added prepared food tax. It will not include all items, though. For example, things like meal replacement bars, hot and cold grinders, and a slew of other items will have that added tax, however, something like a bag of lettuce won't be subject to the added tax.
Leave it to the state to tax our digital media. You'll now have to add the normal Connecticut sales tax of 6.35% to all digital purchases including your digital subscription purchases. So if you subscribe to Nexflix or Spotify, you'll have to add the extra tax to your monthly subscription rate.
There are several gun safety measures that will go into effect October 1st. One of which is you will now be required, under law, to store your guns in a safe place, even when they are unloaded, and you must limit access to that firearm when there is a minor under the age of 18 that could gain access to the weapon without parental permission. Also, pistols and revolvers will be required to be kept in a locked trunk, safe or locked glove box when left unattended in a motor vehicle.
You will also not be able create or transfer a firearm that doesn't have a unique serial number. If you create such guns you will be required to get a unique identifier from the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection. This law also includes the ban on the manufacturing of firearms that are made from plastic and are not detectable through metal detectors.
Starting October 1st, when you go to trade in your vehicle, you will have to pay a new $100 trade-in fee. So where will that money go? According to the Connecticut Automotive Retailers Association, that fee will go right to the state's general fund. Many car retailers throughout the state are concerned that the added fee could impact their business.